Fun Facts

Fun Facts

Where does the word "wallaby" come from?

The name “wallaby” comes from the Eora Aboriginal tribe, who were the original inhabitants of the Sydney, Australia area.

Where do wallabies live?

Wallabies live throughout Australia, New Zealand, and New Guinea. There are also a few populations of wallabies in the British Isles (descendants of zoo escapees).

What exactly is a wallaby?

Essentially, a wallaby is any macropod that isn't considered large enough to be a kangaroo and has not been given some other name. There is no fixed dividing line. Wallabies are smaller and generally have a stockier build than a kangaroo.

Are there different types of wallabies?

There are 30 different types of wallabies that live in many types of habitats, including rocky areas, grasslands, forests and swamps.

What do wallabies eat?

Wallabies are herbivores, and the bulk of their diet is grasses and plants. Their elongated faces leave plenty of jaw room for the large, flat teeth necessary to chew their vegetarian meals.

What are different terms used for wallabies?

A young wallaby is called a joey.

The adult male wallaby is called a buck, boomer or jack – while the adult female wallaby is called a doe, flyer or jill.

A group of wallabies is called a mob, troup or court.

How do wallabies move?

They hop! Hopping is a fast and energy efficient method of travel, designed to cover huge distances in a land that offers little food or water. While they’re good at moving forwards, Wallabies can’t hop backwards.

What time of day are wallabies most active?

Most macropods are nocturnal, moving about and looking for food at night. Some are particularly active during the early morning or late evening hours. Few are active during the day – they often spend the day resting in the shade.